The Physical Education program at the high school level provides a format for the development of individual as well as team skills. Students will be challenged at each level to increase their personal fitness levels. There are 2 classes that the students must pass to graduate. There are several electives in which the student can chose from.

Students are required to earn 1 credit, 2 classes, of Physical Education for graduation. Fitness for Life, L82000, must be taken by all students as part of this graduation requirement. After passing Fitness for Life the student will elect to take another Physical Education course. Students are also required to complete a Health course.

Students are highly encouraged to participate in the elective programs of Team Sports, Weight Training, Dance, Dance for the Athlete, Lifetime Sports, Aerobics/Personal Fitness, Walking Wellness and Fitness for Life II to enhance physical fitness. Students may also take Sports Medicine and Human Sexuality.

Click here for course information

Click here to View Narrative Course Descriptions

Please visit the CHS Athletics page for sports information.

Department Faculty:

Mrs. Kimberly Collins Teacher - Physical Education Athletic Director Assistant kacollins@aacps.org
Mr. Michael Gimon Teacher - Physical Education MGIMON@AACPS.org
Ms. Dyana Janoscak Teacher - Physical Education djanoscak@aacps.org
Mr. Kenneth King Teacher - Physical Education ksking@aacps.org
Mr. Edward Snyder Teacher - Physical Education - Athletic Director esnyder@aacps.org
Mrs. Denise Thompson Teacher - Physical Education Department Chair dpthompson@aacps.org