A student must earn three credits of high school laboratory science, including biology, in order to earn a Maryland high school diploma. As we prepare students for success in the twenty-first century as well as the rigors of high school assessment, we recommend all students study science each year of their high school career. Research has shown that taking a rigorous course of study in high school is the best way to prepare for success in higher education. Students should take the most rigorous course of study that meets their individual needs and abilities.

Click here for course information

Department Faculty:

Ms. Janet Fairbank Teacher - Science jfairbank@aacps.org
Ms. Debora Gaskins Teacher - Science dgaskins@aacps.org
Mrs. Maria Harris Teacher - Science mcharris@aacps.org
Mrs. Victoria Katona Teacher - Science VKATONA@AACPS.org
Ms. Cassie Lapera Teacher - Science clapera@AACPS.org
Ms. Erin Ryan Teacher - Science EJRYAN@AACPS.org
Mr. David Tibbs Teacher - Science dtibbs@aacps.org
Ms. Jennifer Edwards Teacher - Science Department Chair jmedwards@aacps.org